Skip to main content
#
Likes Insurance Agency, Inc
 
 
 
Home
About Us
Carriers Represented
Get A Quote
Personal Insurance
Business Insurance
Farm Insurance
Life & Health
Customer Service
Contact Us
 
 
 Can I drive legally without insurance? 

Can I drive legally without insurance?

NO! Almost every state requires you to have auto liability insurance. All states also have financial responsibility laws. This means that even in a state that does not require liability insurance, you need to have sufficient assets to pay claims if you cause an accident. If you don't have enough assets, you must purchase at least the state minimum amount of insurance. But insurance exists to protect your assets. Trying to see how little you can get by with can be very shortsighted and dangerous.

If you've financed your car, your lender may require comprehensive and collision insurance as part of the loan agreement.

Below is an example of the state minimum limits for auto liability insurance. The first number refers to liability limits for bodily injury for any one person, the second to limits for all persons injured, and the third refers to property damage liability limits. For example, 20/40/10 means coverage up to $40,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $20,000 for one individual and $10,000 coverage for property damage.


State

Liability
limits (1)

State

Liability
limits (1)

State

Liability
limits (1)
Alabama 20/40/10 Kentucky 25/50/10 North Dakota 25/50/25
Alaska 50/100/25 Louisiana 10/20/10 Ohio 12.5/25/7.5
Arizona 15/30/10 Maine 50/100/25 Oklahoma 10/20/10
Arkansas 25/50/25 Maryland 20/40/15 Oregon 25/50/10
California (2) 15/30/5 Massachusetts 20/40/5 Pennsylvania 15/30/5
Colorado 25/50/15 Michigan 20/40/10 Rhode Island 25/50/25
Connecticut 20/40/10 Minnesota 30/60/10 South Carolina 15/30/10
Delaware 15/30/5 Mississippi 10/20/05 South Dakota 25/50/25
D.C. 25/50/10 Missouri 25/50/10 Tennessee (3) 25/50/10
Florida (4) 10/20/10 Montana 25/50/10 Texas 20/40/15
Georgia 25/50/25 Nebraska 25/50/25 Utah 25/50/15
Hawaii 20/40/10 Nevada 15/30/10 Vermont 25/50/10
Idaho 25/50/15 New Hampshire (5) 25/50/25 Virginia 25/50/20
Illinois 20/40/15 New Jersey (6) 15/30/5 Washington 25/50/10
Indiana 25/50/10 New Mexico 25/50/10 West Virginia 20/40/10
Iowa 20/40/15 New York (7) 25/50/10 Wisconsin (5) 25/50/10
Kansas 25/50/10 North Carolina 30/60/25 Wyoming 25/50/20
(1) The first two figures refer to bodily injury liability and the third figure to property damage liability. For example, 20/40/10 means coverage up to $40,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $20,000 for one individual, and $10,000 coverage for property damage. (2) Low-cost policy limits for Los Angeles and San Francisco low-income drivers in the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan are 10/20/3. This is a pilot program effective from July 1, 2000 until January 1, 2004. (3) Although legally defined as financial responsibility, Tennessee's law is similar to a compulsory law because drivers can be fined if stopped by police or after crashes if they cannot show proof of financial responsibility. (4) Only property damage liability is compulsory. (5) Liability insurance not compulsory; limits are for financial responsibility. (6) Drivers may choose a Standard or Basic Policy. Basic Policy limits are 10/10/5. (7) 50/100 if injury results in death.

Source: Alliance of American Insurers; American Insurance Association; National Association of Independent Insurers; Insurance Information Institute.

With Permission ? Insurance Information Institute, Inc. - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED -

 Customer Center 



© Likes Insurance Agency, Inc 2016 Powered By: Insurance Web Designs   webmail login